ac-co vs GoSimpleTax

ac-co vs GoSimpleTax — which Self Assessment route fits you?

GoSimpleTax is a DIY tax-return product: you fill in guided forms yourself and submit straight to HMRC, on an annual subscription. ac-co drafts the return for you from your connected accounts, and you approve rather than build it box by box.

£65 per filing on Free · included in Sole trader, from £14/mo
▸ Start your Self AssessmentSee the comparison

ac-co vs GoSimpleTax, row by row.

Where we're weaker, we say so. Every ac-co fact comes from our own product pages; every competitor fact comes from their public site, cited below.

What you getac-coSA100GoSimpleTaxfrom £69.99/yr
Price£29–£65 per return (50% off until 14 January 2027; full price £59–£129)From £69.99/year (Individual); £96.99/year for Partnership
Free to startStart free, no card — you pay only when you fileNot stated
Files direct to HMRCYesYes
Who reviews before filingYou review and approve — not an accountantYou — GoSimpleTax is self-filed, no accountant review offered
Supplementary pagesGoSimpleTax also covers SA800 partnership returns (SA801–804), which ac-co does not yet support — an area where it's ahead of us.11 supported — SA102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 108 (shares & crypto), 109 + moreSA100–SA109, plus partnership pages SA801–804
MTD Income Tax quarterly updatesBeta — quarterly updates drafted from your ledger, on the waitlistSeparate Making Tax Digital plan, £12.99/month
File it from ChatGPT or ClaudeYes — file from ChatGPT, Claude or Codex (MCP)Not offered
Bookkeeping includedAvailable — ac-co.books (beta), from £9/monthNo — integrates with Xero, FreeAgent, FreshBooks and SumUp
Mobile appGoSimpleTax's own site doesn't mention a mobile app for the core Self Assessment product (its separate MTD-via-Coconut plan does).No — web app only (works fine in a mobile browser)Not stated
Best forYou'd rather review a return that's already drafted from your accounts than build one box by box yourself.You already know your numbers, want to fill the forms in yourself, and prefer one low fixed annual cost.

Competitor details for GoSimpleTax are from gosimpletax.com/pricing (opens in a new tab), checked on 2026-09-10 — check their site for anything that may have changed since. GoSimpleTax is a trademark of its owner; ac-co.ai is not affiliated.

WHO SHOULD PICK WHICH

Neither is wrong — it depends what you need.

PICK AC-CO IF…

Pick ac-co if you'd rather your bank feed, accounts and broker did the box-filling for you — you review a finished draft instead of working through GoSimpleTax's guided forms yourself.

PICK GOSIMPLETAX IF…

Pick GoSimpleTax if you're confident entering your own figures, want partnership returns (SA800/SA801-804) which we don't cover yet, and prefer one flat annual subscription over a per-return price.

Sole trader
For individuals
Pay-per-file
£14/mo +VAT
or £140/yr, paid annually
See the full plan on /pricing →
No sign-up — try it right here

No sign-up see what you'd owe.

The same income tax engine that drafts your SA100 runs here. Nothing is saved unless you start a return.

Fix the figures above to see an estimate.

Estimate only — not tax advice. Figures use published HMRC rates and thresholds for the selected tax year; your actual bill depends on your full return.

An estimate from the figures you enter — not a tax calculation or advice. Your final figure comes from your filed Self Assessment return.

SWITCHING

What moves across, and what it costs.

From Other

What moves
  • Prior-year figures, if you export them
  • Your UTR and HMRC login details
CostFreeEffortOne sign-up and a bank/accounts connection

Switching from GoSimpleTax

OBJECTIONS

ac-co vs GoSimpleTax — why would I move?

I've already paid for my annual GoSimpleTax licence.

That's a genuine sunk cost — if you're mid-subscription, it may make sense to finish the tax year on GoSimpleTax and move for your next return, where ac-co is priced per return rather than a flat annual fee.

I file a partnership return (SA800) — can ac-co do that?

Not yet. GoSimpleTax explicitly supports SA800 partnership returns with the SA801–804 pages; that's an area where it currently covers more ground than ac-co, and a real reason to stay if that's your situation.

I'm used to filling in the forms myself — won't software drafting it feel like losing control?

You still see and approve every box before it's filed — the difference is ac-co fills them from your connected accounts first, so you're checking a draft rather than building one from scratch.

Is one flat annual fee not simpler than paying per return?

If you file every year regardless of complexity, a flat fee can work out cheaper. ac-co's per-return pricing (from £29) suits filing occasionally or wanting the fee to reflect how complex your actual return is.

What do I lose by moving from a self-filed tool to drafted software?

Nothing about the filing itself — both submit directly to HMRC. What you gain is a draft built from your bank, accounts and HMRC's pre-population instead of typing every box in yourself.

SEE YOUR OWN NUMBERS

Try ac-co on your return.

Connect your bank, accounts or broker and see a drafted SA100 before you decide anything.

▸ Start your Self AssessmentSee every comparison
No card to start · UK-only · HMRC-recognised