ac-co vs TaxCalc

ac-co vs TaxCalc — which Self Assessment route fits you?

TaxCalc is long-established desktop tax-return software: you buy an annual licence, install it, and work through a guided “SimpleStep” wizard yourself. ac-co is cloud software that drafts the return from your connected accounts, so there's no wizard to work through box by box.

£65 per filing on Free · included in Sole trader, from £14/mo
▸ Start your Self AssessmentSee the comparison

ac-co vs TaxCalc, row by row.

Where we're weaker, we say so. Every ac-co fact comes from our own product pages; every competitor fact comes from their public site, cited below.

What you getac-coSA100TaxCalcfrom £42
Price£29–£65 per return (50% off until 14 January 2027; full price £59–£129)From £42 (annual licence, desktop software)
Free to startStart free, no card — you pay only when you fileNot stated
Files direct to HMRCYesYes
Who reviews before filingYou review and approve — not an accountantYou — desktop DIY software with a built-in “Check & Finish” error scan, no accountant review
Supplementary pages11 supported — SA102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 108 (shares & crypto), 109 + more“All supplementary pages, including non-residence and complex income”
MTD Income Tax quarterly updatesBeta — quarterly updates drafted from your ledger, on the waitlistListed as a separate product for individuals; price not shown on the site
File it from ChatGPT or ClaudeYes — file from ChatGPT, Claude or Codex (MCP)Not offered
Bookkeeping includedAvailable — ac-co.books (beta), from £9/monthNo
Mobile appNo — web app only (works fine in a mobile browser)Not stated
Best forYou'd rather your return was drafted from your bank, accounts and broker than built by hand in a desktop wizard.You're comfortable with desktop software and want to own a one-off annual licence rather than pay per return.

Competitor details for TaxCalc are from taxcalc.com/individual (opens in a new tab), checked on 2026-09-10 — check their site for anything that may have changed since. TaxCalc is a trademark of its owner; ac-co.ai is not affiliated.

WHO SHOULD PICK WHICH

Neither is wrong — it depends what you need.

PICK AC-CO IF…

Pick ac-co if you'd rather skip a step-by-step wizard entirely — connect your bank, accounts or broker and review a return that's already drafted, from any browser, on any device.

PICK TAXCALC IF…

Pick TaxCalc if you're used to desktop tax software, want a one-off annual licence you install locally, and are happy entering your own figures through its guided SimpleStep mode.

Sole trader
For individuals
Pay-per-file
£14/mo +VAT
or £140/yr, paid annually
See the full plan on /pricing →
No sign-up — try it right here

No sign-up see what you'd owe.

The same income tax engine that drafts your SA100 runs here. Nothing is saved unless you start a return.

Fix the figures above to see an estimate.

Estimate only — not tax advice. Figures use published HMRC rates and thresholds for the selected tax year; your actual bill depends on your full return.

An estimate from the figures you enter — not a tax calculation or advice. Your final figure comes from your filed Self Assessment return.

SWITCHING

What moves across, and what it costs.

From Other

What moves
  • Prior-year figures, if you export them
  • Your UTR and HMRC login details
CostFreeEffortOne sign-up and a bank/accounts connection

Switching from TaxCalc

OBJECTIONS

ac-co vs TaxCalc — why would I move?

I've already bought this year's TaxCalc licence.

A genuine sunk cost if you're mid-year — it may make sense to finish this return on TaxCalc and try ac-co for your next one, priced per return instead of an annual licence.

I'm used to the desktop SimpleStep wizard.

ac-co runs entirely in the browser and drafts the return from your connected accounts rather than walking you through a step-by-step wizard — different workflow, not a worse one, but a genuine change if you like SimpleStep.

Does TaxCalc's install-on-two-computers licence save me money?

If you already own the licence and only need one return a year, it can. ac-co's per-return pricing (from £29) suits filing occasionally or wanting the price to reflect your return's actual complexity.

Will 'Check & Finish' catch things ac-co won't?

TaxCalc's error scan checks a return you've built by hand. ac-co's draft starts from your bank, accounts and HMRC's own pre-population, so many of the same errors — a missed box, a mismatched figure — are less likely to occur in the first place.

Is desktop software safer than a web app for something this sensitive?

Both file directly to HMRC. ac-co runs in the browser on any device without an install; TaxCalc is a local install you own outright — a reasonable preference either way, not a security gap on our side.

SEE YOUR OWN NUMBERS

Try ac-co on your return.

Connect your bank, accounts or broker and see a drafted SA100 before you decide anything.

▸ Start your Self AssessmentSee every comparison
No card to start · UK-only · HMRC-recognised